English Rebel Songs 1381-1984 – Chumbawamba


Out of stock


In the name of all the poor oppressed in the Land of ENGLAND.

English Rebel Songs 1381-1984 is Chumbawamba’s homage to the men and women who never had obituaries in the broadsheets; those who never received titles or appeared in as an entry in “Who’s Who.” This is an album that conjures up the tragedies and triumphs of the people who shaped England: its citizens. This album was originally recorded in 1988 when Chumbawamba was determined to stir up a rout in the tiny anarcho-punk community by swapping guitars and drums for a capella singing. The songs were discovered in songbooks, in folk clubs and on cassette tapes, chopped and changed and bludgeoned into shape with utmost respect for the original tunes. Fierce, sweet and powerful, English Rebel Songs 1381-1984 contains ballads not included on the original album. It’s guaranteed to sway the listener, break hearts and encourage hope… just as those who inspired the songs by changing history.

1. The Cutty Wren
2. The Diggers Song
3. The Colliers March
4. The Triumph of General Ludd
5. Chartist Anthem
6. The Bad Squire
7. Song on the Times
8. Smashing of the Van
9. The World Turned Upside Down
10. Poverty Knock
11. Idris Strike Song
12. Hanging on the Old Barbed Wire
13. Coal Not Dole

Additional information

Weight 0.25 oz


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “English Rebel Songs 1381-1984 – Chumbawamba”