Utah Phillips – Starlight on the Rails: A Songbook


A must have for any music collection.

In stock


Starlight on the Rails: A Songbook
Utah Phillips

Starlight on the Rails is the most complete collection of Utah Phillip’s songs ever released. Spanning 30 years of studio, live, and unreleased recordings from “The Golden Voice of the Great Southwest,” this definitive set includes Utah’s personal reflections about each song. It also includes renditions of Utah’s songs by Kate Wolf, Rosalie Sorrels, and many others. Almost five hours on four CDs with a full-color, 12-page booklet included.

“Utah Phillips is surely one of the nation’s most unforgettable characters, as will be attested to by people all over the U.S.A. who have heard him, guitar in hand, hold forth on the ways of the world. What a joy now to have his “songbooks” available to anyone with a CD player. You will be going through it again and again.” – Pete Seeger

Disc 1

1. Songbook Introduction

2. Utah on “The Telling Takes Me Home”
3. The Telling Takes Me Home
4. Utah on “Yuba City”
5. Yuba City [Live]
6. Utah on “All Used Up”
7. All Used Up [Live]
8. Utah on “Frisco Road”
9. Frisco Road [Live]
10. Utah on “Queen on the Rails”
11. Queen of the Rails [Live]
12. Utah on “Wabash Cannonball/Tolono”
13. Wabash Cannonball/Tolono
14. Utah on “Weepy Doesn’t Know”
15. Weepy Doesn’t Know [Live]
16. Utah on “Funeral Train”
17. Funeral Train [Live]
18. Utah on “Green Rolling Hills of West Virginia”
19. Green Rolling Hills of West Virginia [Live]
20. Utah on “Phoebe Snow”
21. Phoebe Snow [Live]
22. Utah on “He Comes Like Rain”
23. He Comes Like Rain
24. Utah on “The Soldier’s Return”
25. The Soldier’s Return
26. Utah on “Touch Me”
27. Touch Me [Live]
28. Utah on “If I Could Be the Rain”
29. If I Could Be the Rain
Disc 2

1. Utah on “Starlight on the Rails”

2. Starlight on the Rails [Live]
3. Utah on “Talking N.P.R. Blues”
4. Talking N.P.R. Blues
5. Utah on “John D. Lee”
6. John D. Lee
7. Utah on “Dancers”
8. Dancers
9. Utah on “Dog Canyon”
10. Dog Canyon
11. Utah on “Look for Me in Butte”
12. Look for Me in Butte
13. Utah on “Goodnight Loving Trail”
14. Goodnight Loving Trail [Live]
15. Utah on “Daddy, What’s a Train?”
16. Daddy, What’s a Train? [Live]
17. Utah on “Fly Away”
18. Fly Away
19. Utah on “Kid’s Liberation”
20. Kid’s Liberation Song [Live]
21. Utah on “Sing in the Spring”
22. Sing in the Spring [Live]
23. Utah on “Eddie’s Song”
24. Eddie’s Song [Live]
25. Utah on “Shadow Maker”
26. Shadow Maker
27. Utah on “She’ll Never Be Mine”
28. She’ll Never Be Mine [Live]
29. Utah on “Hood River, Roll On”
30. Hood River, Roll On
31. Utah on “Stupid’s Song”
32. Stupid’s Song [Live]
33. Utah on “Nevada Jane”
34. Nevada Jane [Live]
Disc 3

1. Disc 3 Intro

2. Utah on “Collie Wilkins”
3. Collie Wilkins [Live]
4. Utah on “Golden Mansions”
5. Golden Mansions [Live]
6. Utah on “A Ragged Old Man”
7. A Ragged Old Man [Live]
8. Utah on “Orphan Train”
9. Orphan Train [Live]
10. Utah on “The Miner’s Lullaby”
11. The Miner’s Lullaby [Live]
12. Utah on “Wolverine 14 Talking Blues”
13. Wolverine 14 Talking Blues
14. Utah on “I Think of You”
15. I Think of You
16. Utah on “A Clearing in the Forest”
17. A Clearing in the Forest
18. Utah on “Rock Salt & Nails”
19. Rock Salt & Nails
20. Utah on “Twist and a Pound”
21. Twist and a Pound
22. Utah on “Scott’s Creek Bluff”
23. Scott’s Creek Bluff
24. Utah on “Ashes on the Sea”
25. Ashes on the Sea
26. Utah on “The Faded Roses of December”
27. The Faded Roses of December
28. Utah on “Aces, Straights, & Flushes”
29. Aces, Straights, & Flushes
Disc 4


2. Going Away [Live]
3. Utah on “Old Buddy, Goodnight”
4. Old Buddy, Goodnight [Live]
5. Utah on “Jesse’s Corrido”
6. Jesse’s Corrido
7. Utah on “Pig Hollow”
8. Pig Hollow [Live]
9. Utah on “Enola Gay”
10. Enola Gay [Live]
11. Utah on “Larimer Street”
12. Larimer Street [Live]
13. Utah on “Walking Through Your Town in the Snow”
14. Walking Through Your Town in the Snow
15. Utah on “Room for the Poor”
16. Room for the Poor
17. Utah on “Trooper’s Lament”
18. Trooper’s Lament
19. Utah on “I Will Not Obey”
20. I Will Not Obey
21. Utah on “Ain’t It Fine”
22. Ain’t It Fine
23. Utah on “Killing Ground”
24. Killing Ground
25. Utah on “Judas Ram”
26. Judas Ram
27. Utah on “Yellow Ribbon”
28. Yellow Ribbon
29. Utah on “Rice & Beans”
30. Rice & Beans
31. Utah on “Hymn Song”
32. Hymn Song [Live]


Additional information

Weight 7.9 oz


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Utah Phillips – Starlight on the Rails: A Songbook”